Skip to content ↓

About the Governors 

School governing boards have three core functions:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school;

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of staff;

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Poverest Primary School Governors are:

Mrs S Weeks

Head Teacher

All Committees

Mr K Graham

Chair of Governors

Term of Office 01/10/15- 30/09/19

Parent Governor
Safeguarding, KS2 Progress and Online safety Governor

All Committees

Mr S Haylen

Term of Office 11/11/16- 10/11/20

Parent Governor

Achievement and Standards Committee, Safety, Behaviour and Community Committee (Chair)

Mr G Martin

Vice Chair of Governors

Term of Office 23/03/17-


Co-opted Governor

Governor responsible for EYFS

Resources Committee (Chair)

Mrs A Willis

Term of Office 9/05/18 -


Parent Governor Resources Committee

Mr T Baughan

Term of Office 1/05/18 -


Parent Governor Safety, Behaviour and Community Committee

Mr M Parker

Term of Office

12/06/18- 11/06/2022

Co-opted Governor Achievement and Standards Committee  

Mrs C Dale

Term of Office

18/09/18- 17/09/2022

Staff Governor Standards Committee

Mrs P Baines

Term of Office

18/10/18- 17/10/2022

Co-opted Governor

Standards Committee


Mrs S Tysall

Term of Office

18/010/18- 17/010/2022

Co-opted Governor  

Mrs T Bellsham

Term of Office 13/07/16-

Associate Member of the Governing Body

Former Governors    

Mrs S Reed

Term of Office 13/10/15-

Resigned 20/07/18

Staff Governor  

Mrs J Clark

Term of office 18/02/14-17/02/18

Term ended

Local Authority Governor  

Mrs L Matthews

Term of office 09/05/14- 8/05/18

Term ended

Parent Governor  


The Clerk to the Governing Body is Miss K Lewis.

Types of Governor:
Co-opted - appointed by the Governing Board
Local Authority - nominated by the Local Authority
Parent - elected by parents
Staff - elected by staff

Associate members:
Individuals who the governing body feel would contribute to its work. Appointed by the governing body as members of committees or to particular roles